2013 Olivier Award Nominees Announced!


This morning, on BBC Radio 2, former winners Ruth Wilson and Elaine Page announced the nominees for the 2013 Olivier Awards.  The awards, considered the most sought-after in the world of British theatre, are on their thirty-seventh year of existence, with this year’s awards returning to the Royal Opera House in London on April 28, 2013.  This year’s ceremony will be hosted by Sheridan Smith and Hugh Bonneville and aired live on BBC Radio 2.  The nominees for each category are as follows:

Best Revival:
Long Day’s Journey into Night
Old Times
Twelfth Night

Best Actor in a Supporting Role:
Adrian Scarborough (Hedda Gabler)
Kyle Soller (Long Day’s Journey into Night)
Paul Chahidi (Twelfth Night)
Richard McCabe (The Audience)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role:
Anastasia Hille (The Effect)
Cush Jumbo (Julius Caesar)
Helen McCrory (The Last of the Haussmans)
Janie Dee (NSFW)
Nicola Walker (The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time)

Best Lighting Design:
Lee Curran (Constellations)
Mark Henderson (Sweeney Todd)
Paul Anderson (The Master and Margarita)
Paule Constable (The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time)

Best Sound Design:
David McSeveney (Constellations)
Gareth Owen (Top Hat)
Ian Dickinson (The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time)
Paul Groothius (Sweeney Todd)

Best Entertainment and Family:
Goodnight Mister Tom
Hansel and Gretel
Room on the Broom

Best Costume Design:
Anthony Ward (Sweeney Todd)
Bob Crowley (The Audience)
Jenny Tiramani (Twelfth Night)
Jon Morrell (Top Hat)

Best Set Design:
Bunny Christie and Finn Ross (The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time)
Hildegard Bechtler (Top Hat)
Miriam Buether and Wang Gongxin (Wild Swans)
Tim Hatley (The Bodyguard)

Best New Dance Production:
Aeternumn, by the Royal Ballet at the Royal Opera House, choreographed by Christopher Wheeldon
A Streetcar Named Desire, by Scottish Ballet at Sadler’s Wells
Cacti, at Sadler’s Wells, choreographed by Alexander Ekman

Outstanding Achievement in Dance:
ILL-Abilities Company in Breakin’ Convention at Sadler’s Wells
Lez Brotherston for the set and costumes for Sleeping Beauty, New Adventures at Sadler’s Wells
Marianela Nunez for Aeternumn, Diana and Actaeon and Viscera, The Royal Ballet at the Royal Opera House

Best Actor:
James McAvoy (Macbeth)
Luke Treadaway (The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time)
Mark Rylance (Twelfth Night)
Rafe Spall (Constellations)
Rupert Everett (The Judas Kiss) 

Best Actress:
Billie Piper (The Effect)
Hattie Morahan (A Doll’s House)
Helen Mirren (The Audience)
Kristin Scott Thomas (Old Times)

Best New Musical:
Soul Sister
The Bodyguard
Top Hat 

Best Musical Revival:
A Chorus Line
Kiss Me, Kate
Sweeney Todd

Best New Opera Production:
Billy Budd, English National Opera at the London Coliseum
Caligula, English National Opera at the London Coliseum
Einstein on the Beach at the Barbican Theatre
La Traviata, English National Opera at the London Coliseum

Outstanding Achievement in Opera:
Bryan Hymel, for his performances in Les Troyens, Robert Le Diable, and Rusalka at the Royal Opera House
Edward Gardner, for his conducting of The Flying Dutchman and Billy Budd for English National Opera
Music Theatre Wales for In the Locked Room/Ghost Patrol at the Linbury, Royal Opera House
The Stage Management Teams at English National Opera’s London Coliseum and a the Royal Opera House

Outstanding Achievement in an Affiliate Theatre:
Caroline Horton for You’re Not Like Other Girls Chrissy at the Bush theatre
Kate Bond and Morgan Lloyd for You Me Bum Bum Train, presented by Theatre Royal Stratford East
The production of Red Velvet at the Tricycle theatre
The season of new writing at the Royal Court Upstairs

Best Theatre Choreographer:
Bill Deamer (Top Hat)
Scott Ambler (Chariots of Fire)
Scott Graham and Steven Hoggett (The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time)
Stephen Mear (Kiss Me, Kate)

Best Director:
Jeremy Herrin (This House)
Marianne Elliot (The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time)
Simon McBurney (The Master and Margarita)
Stephen Daldry (The Audience)

Best Performance in a Supporting Role in a Musical:
Adam Garcia (Kiss Me, Kate)
Debbie Kurup (The Bodyguard)
Leigh Zimmerman (A Chorus Line)
Siân Phillips (Cabaret)

Best Actor in a Musical:
Alex Bourne (Kiss Me, Kate)
Michael Ball (Sweeney Todd)
Tom Chambers (Top Hat)
Will Young (Cabaret)

Best Actress in a Musical:
Hannah Waddingham (Kiss Me, Kate)
Heather Headley (The Bodyguard)
Imelda Staunton (Sweeney Todd)
Summer Strallen (Top Hat)

Best New Play:
Constellations (written by Nick Payne)
The Audience (written by Peter Morgan)
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (adapted by Simon Stephens)
This House (written by James Graham)

BBC Radio 2 Audience Award:
Billy Elliot: The Musical
Matilda: The Musical
The Phantom of the Opera

What are your picks for this year’s Awards?  Let us know in the comments!

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.